My advice to the me of the past. Since the me of the future clearly cannot read.

The words you’re about to say. Remember, you’re there and they’re there for the same reason, and it’s extremely unlikely that if the circumstances somehow changed tomorrow, if the gravity holding you all together somehow set you all free, that you’d see even the closest of them together more than once or twice subsequently.

The words you’re about to say seem totally logical, even kind. Even generous and sweet, but no one wants to hear them. Don’t say those things. Remember I told you this in high school, and in college, and in job after job after job, and still, somehow, you just don’t listen.

The words you’re about to say, no matter how kind or funny you think they are…they’re neither to the audience you’re aiming them at. You’re coming off exactly as you have always, and always will, it seems until you learn that simple rule.

Shut up, sit down. Do what you’re here to do, WHEREVER that is. Be kind. Be blind. Be hard to find. Be simple of mind, and one step behind. But no more. But no less. But no more.

You are smart and funny but you’re also broken and sad. Remember that when you see a broken vessel, the less you move it, the less leaks out. You are what you are. But there is a time and a place to be what you’ve become. Some people never find that place. That’s just the way it is. Think of your gifts. How can you blame someone who can’t see them for not thanking you for sharing them?

One thought on “My advice to the me of the past. Since the me of the future clearly cannot read.

  1. Vilbert Veal says:

    What you say is true. However, I think this:

    I know now that you never ever really loved me

    It hurts me now to think you never ever really cared

    I sit and I ask myself a thousand times to try and find

    What really happened to the love that we shared

Leave a Reply

