Sometimes you get so lonely.

Feels like there’s no one to talk to , so I talk to you again.

Watched “Spinout”, the 1966 Elvis movie.  In this movie, Elvis sings a song called “Smorgasbord”.

A song called “Smorgasbord”.

And in this song, there’s a line:

“I’ll take the dish I please, and I please the dish I take…”

Go to :15.

I know it really wasn’t his fault, but this is the year “Revolver” and “Pet Sounds” came out.  After “rubber Soul”.

This song was written by the same team that wrote “Devil In Disguise”.

I find it difficult to list my favorite David Bowie album, since most of them have some pretty big flaws. I suppose I would choose Hunky Dory from start to finish. But if there’s one record of his that influenced me more than any other (I didn’t hear Hunky Dory until well into my 20’s) it would have to be “Low”. The choices he made production-wise with those Berlin records still befuddle me. The drums are cacophonous but the bass (played by the tragically underrated George Murray, my favorite bass player of all time) is something that I try to emulate even now in my own ham-handed way. I also love this video for the way Bowie can teeter and fall at any minute.  Coke? Heroin? No sleep? Who cares?

Stanley Dorfman also directed:

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

