When the world is running down…

No posts for a long time. Not for a lack of things to talk about. Just trying to change things internally.

I’ve been trying to change my life in some ways since June began. I’d say it started around Father’s Day. If I fail, if I succeed, at least I’ll live as I believe. That involves taking daily walks of about a mile and a half up hilly hills and down again. They’re both hard. Counting every calorie I ingest. I use MyPlate by LiveStrong.com. It’s been a real eye-opener to see what I eat every day and how insidious those little self-rewards like chocolate and ice cream can be.

MyPlate.

So I gotta stop myself. Toxic foods don’t help, and neither do toxic people. Some people would say that I, myself, am toxic, so I have made a concerted effort to minimize the role of that cast of characters in my everyday life. It helps, I suppose, that I don’t see may adults, being unemployed and spending all my time with the kids. But I need to change that, too. So if you run an open mic or something around town and wouldn’t mind signing me up ahead of time, I would love to come by. I really would like to have more adult conversations.

Once more from the top….sung, please…

I make the kids listen to the soundtrack to “Company”  in the car. They are perplexed. I think they aren’t sure that this was actually theater. I make no apologies. They’ll come around to the wisdom of IV+/V in time.

The magnificent finished version:

Don’t forget I’ll be on WBNY.com 91.3 in Buffalo this evening at 8:45 or so shilling my ever-present wares.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “When the world is running down…

  1. Morrighan says:

    Self improvement is always a step in the right direction and I’m in your cheering section!

    Adult conversation is always a treat! The “daycare” I’m in all day frowns on that tremendously.

Leave a Reply

