The Pointer Sisters and Fanny will never be in the RRHOF.

First black vocal group to perform at the Grand Ole Opry? They wrote and performed this:

I love the coda with the bell ride. Always a sucker for the bell ride.

They had another hit with this:

This version kicks the ass of the original, which was recorded by…Lee Dorsey! Still pretty good.

Lee Dorset, as you all know, had had a big hit with “Ya Ya” 9 years previously. I case you never heard what pop music sounded like between Elvis in the Army and The Beatles, here’s about the best of it:

This song was covered by John Lennon on his “Walls and Bridges” album in 1974. Julian (his 11 year old son) on drums.

Here’s the story of why this brief recording exists.

The guy that produced all those slick Pointer Sisters hits in the 80’s (Neutron Dance, Automatic, Jump For My Love, all that shit) was Richard Perry, who also produced Ringo Starr’s biggest solo successes. He also produced the first all-female band signed to a major label, Fanny. You never heard of Fanny?

“Badge” was Eric Clapton misreading the word “bridge” on the lead sheet provided by George Harrison.  More Fanny doing The Beatles.

Not bad. Not great. But important.

David Bowie said (Rolling Stone, 29 December 1999):
“One of the most important female bands in American rock has been buried without a trace. And that is Fanny. They were one of the finest… rock bands of their time, in about 1973. They were extraordinary… they’re as important as anybody else who’s ever been, ever; it just wasn’t their time.”

When you email someone, the least they can do is respond with a cursory acknowledgement, right? I mean there IS a protocol. How is it that people have not grasped this yet? What the fuck is wrong with people? I bet Bonnie Pointer would have returned my emails. I know I’m no one. I know I am creepy to strangers. I know women are put off by me. But I’m not fucking threat. I’m just trying to be nice. What the fuck is wrong with people? You don’t care. This is all a cry for help. Man I need something to do.

Fanny could play:

Leave a Reply

