Stuff for a crappy Monday.

Looks like the list of GOP “Young Guns” is down one StG44.

If I see that PJ O’Rourke is going to be on Bill Maher‘s show, I simply will not watch. Frankly, I don’t get the appeal. I know Maher regards him as a hero from his work on the National Lampoon, but it simply does not translate to television. His mawkish blurtings might be appealing in print but watching his grimacing facade destroy another well-intentioned curmudgeonly “observation” makes my guts churn.

I think the song “So Alive” by Love and Rockets is about oral sex. It sounds great in my Sinatra voice. Oh well. Great fucking song.

“I don’t know what color your eyes are, baby
But your hair is long and brown
Your legs are strong, and you’re so, so long
And you don’t come from this town”

Here, bask in the goodness of a bygone era.

The funniest movie I have seen in the last 20 years is “Bruno”. I’m no critic, but I can tell you that it literally forced me to laugh, whereas movies in the Judd Apatow oeuvre make me think I should be laughing even when I’m not. I like to laugh.

May I recommend a fantastic album to you? It’s a little anachronistic in The Four Seasons canon, but I’m happy that I finally found it. It’s called “The Genuine Imitation Life Gazette”, released in early 1969. Frankie Valli‘s distinctive voice and the band’s fantastic harmonies all covered in a psychedelic glaze.  I never posted MP3s before. This might not work.  Anyhow, look for it on Ebay.

mp3: Mrs. Stately’s Garden
mp3: Saturday’s Father

Leave a Reply

