Ethical question.

If I hit a dog with my car, I’d get out and try to identify the dog’s owner so that I may inform them that Duchess is now a pile of goo. 

If I hit a cat, I would think the owner would be in that vicinity so getting out of the car and looking around would be appropriate. 

If I hit a family of ducks, people would be aghast. It would be, in some ways, worse than hitting a cat. If my aim is off and I only get one or two, i’m still gonna have hell to pay. 

But if I hit an opossum, a rabbit, a vole, a mouse, a skunk, it would be ok to keep going. If I hit a deer, no one would mourn, but really, a deer is as cute as a duck. So I could keep going and no one would be too judgmental. 

So why is hitting a duck with a car worse than a deer? Is that the line? 

I once hit a squirrel. Sadly, I was on my way to drop off the kids at school, so I couldn’t stop and back over it. It was still twitching. It didn’t matter, though. When I got back 20 minutes later it was just about done twitching. 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Ethical question.

  1. rhijulbec says:

    I say Kill them all, god will know his own, to quote from some famous king or someone.

  2. Greg says:

    Do you rub the nub?

  3. Greg says:

    Whew. Just checkin! ;-)

  4. Worry, not, my enigmatic foe. The nub shant be free of my mawkish maulings.

  5. Greg says:

    Enigmatic foe
    Dat beez between enigmatic three
    And enigmatic fi

  6. […] If I hit a dog with my car, I’d get out and try to identify the dog’s owner so that I may inform them that Duchess is now a pile of goo. If I hit a cat, I would think the owner would be in that vicinity so getting out of the car and looking around would be appropriate. If I hit a family of ducks, people would be aghast.      porcinedrone.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers

